USA NPN National Phenology Network

Taking the Pulse of Our Planet

You are here

fundamental tissue/ground tissue

The ground tissue of plants contains three main cell types called parenchyma, collenchyma, and sclerenchyma. These cells types primarily support storage, mechanical support, but can also serve for food production in the photosynthetic cells, or serve in wound healing and regeneration, depending on which class of cells they belong to.

There is currently no content classified with this term.