You are here

Communities of practice are groups of people who share a concern or a passion for something they do and learn how to do it better as they interact regularly. (Wenger-Trayner, 2015). Join our LPL Community of Practice to learn best practices for monitoring programs.

Image credit:
Brian F. Powell

Local Phenology Leaders Community of Practice

Join a growing group of active leaders who are using Nature's Notebook as an education, science, or managment project for engaging volunteers in collecting phenology observations in their communities. The Local Phenology Leader Community of Practice is a place to connect and communicate with staff at the USA-NPN's National Coordinating Office and with other leaders who use Nature's Notebook as part of their organization's programming.

The Local Phenology Leader Community of Practice

The USA-NPN's Outreach Coordinator leads our Community of Practice. We organize monthly Leader's calls and facilitate discussions online in our Forum. Contribute to the conversation and ask questions:

community Forum


LPL Monthly Calls

See call topics and view recordings from 2021.

 2022 DATES

TOPIC

Thursday, February 17 OR Friday, February 18

LPL Community of Practice Call

Results from our Annual Survey for Local Phenology Programs

Thursday, March 17 OR Friday, March 18

LPL Community of Practice Call

Topic TBD

Thursday, April 21 OR Friday, April 22

LPL Community of Practice Call

Topic TBD

Thursday, May 19 OR Friday, May 20

LPL Community of Practice Call

Topic TBD

Thursday, June 16 OR Friday, June 17

LPL Community of Practice Call

Topic TBD

Thursday, July 21 OR Friday, July 22

LPL Community of Practice Call

Topic TBD

Thursday, August 18 OR Friday, August 19

LPL Community of Practice Call

Topic TBD

Thursday, September 15 OR Friday, September 16

LPL Community of Practice Call

Topic TBD

Thursday, October 20 OR Friday, October 21

LPL Community of Practice Call

Topic TBD

Thursday, November 17 OR Friday, November 18

LPL Community of Practice Call

Topic TBD

Thursday, December 15 OR Friday, December 16

LPL Community of Practice Call

Topic TBD

Thursday calls are held at 3pm Pacific Time, 4pm Mountain Time, 5pm Central Time, and 6pm Eastern Time.

Friday calls are held at 10am Pacific Time, 11am Mountain Time, Noon Central Time, and 1pm Eastern Time.

They typically last about an hour, but no longer than an hour and a half.

Join the email list to receive the meeting link. We send out the link a week before and again the day before the calls. Talk to you soon!

Join THE EMAIL LISt

To suggest a topic for a monthly call, complete this form.


BECOME A CERTIFIED LOCAL PHENOLOGY LEADER

Local Phenology Leader Certification Course

A 10-week, 50 hour, interactive course designed to help you navigate our online materials and establish a long term phenology monitoring program using Nature's Notebook at your site. We offer two sessions a year - one in the Fall and one in the Spring. For more information visit the Local Phenology Leader Certification Course Landing Page and add your name to the list of Leaders interested in becoming Certified.


Past LPL Monthy Call Topics

 2021 DATES

TOPIC

Thursday, February 18 OR Friday, February 19

LPL Community of Practice Call

Results of the 2020 LPP Annual Survey

View the recording

Thursday, March 18 OR Friday, March 19

LPL Community of Practice Call

Refresher on how to use the USA-NPN's Visualization Tools to explore your LPPs data

View the recording

Thursday, April 15 OR Friday, April 16

LPL Community of Practice Call

Best practices for observer retention and engagement

View the recording

Thursday, May 20 OR Friday, May 21

LPL Community of Practice Call

How to create an annual report for your program

View the recording

Thursday, June 17 OR Friday, June 18

LPL Community of Practice Call

Tips and resources for working with youth

View the recording

Thursday, July 15 OR Friday, July 16

LPL Community of Practice Call

How to explore climate data alongside your phenology data

View the recording

Thursday, August 19 OR Friday, August 20

LPL Community of Practice Call

A refresher on the Observaton Deck, including the features of the Manage Users page for your Local Phenology Program.

View the recording

Thursday, September 16th OR Friday, September 17th

LPL Community of Practice Call

Phenophase Photo Guides, Nature's Notebook Nuggets, and other training resources.

No recording available

Thursday, October 14th OR Friday, October 15th

LPL Community of Practice Call

What can you learn from the Local Phenology Program Dashboard

View the recording

Thursday, November 18th OR Friday, November 19th

LPL Community of Practice Call

Data exploration - seeing patterns in phenology over time and exploring climate drivers.

View the recording

Thursday, December 16th OR Friday, December 17th

LPL Community of Practice Call

End-of-year tasks to keep your LPP running smoothly.

View the recording